FluxBilling

Best DCIM Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared, Open Source to Enterprise

Twelve DCIM tools compared for 2026 — open source (NetBox, Nautobot, Ralph, openDCIM, RackTables) and commercial (Sunbird, Nlyte, Device42, Hyperview, Schneider, FNT, EasyDCIM) — with licences, published prices and release dates checked on 26 September 2026.

Mario MarinMario Marin10 min read
Best DCIM Software in 2026: 12 Tools Compared, Open Source to Enterprise

The best DCIM software depends on the job you need it for. Network teams documenting a source of truth usually pick NetBox or Nautobot, both open source and actively released in September 2026. Enterprise facilities teams that need monitoring, capacity planning and change workflows look at Sunbird dcTrack, Nlyte, Schneider Electric EcoStruxure IT or Hyperview. Hosting and colocation providers that bill customers for racks, power and IP addresses need DCIM joined to billing: EasyDCIM connects to WHMCS or HostBill, and FluxBilling includes DCIM in the billing platform itself. This guide compares twelve tools on licence, deployment, published price and release activity, all checked on 26 September 2026.

How this was sourced. FluxBilling publishes this guide and sells a product that includes DCIM; it has its own clearly marked section below and is not ranked against the others. Every licence, price and release date was read from the vendor's own site, documentation or GitHub repository on 26 September 2026, and the sources are listed at the end. Prices are quoted in the currency each vendor publishes, with no conversion. Where a vendor publishes no price, this guide says so rather than estimating one.

The twelve at a glance

ToolBest fitLicenceDeploymentPublished priceLatest release
NetBoxNetwork engineering source of truthOpen source (Apache-2.0)Self-hosted; NetBox Cloud and Enterprise from NetBox LabsFree; paid editions "contact sales"v4.7.1, 15 Sep 2026
NautobotNetwork automation platformOpen source (Apache-2.0)Self-hosted; Nautobot Cloud as SaaSFree; paid editions not priced in the projectv3.2.5, 15 Sep 2026
RalphAsset management, DCIM and CMDBOpen source (Apache-2.0)Self-hostedFree20260902.1, 2 Sep 2026
openDCIMSimple data-centre inventoryOpen source (GPL v3)Self-hostedFree23.04, Oct 2023
RackTablesSmall server roomsOpen source (GPL-2.0)Self-hostedFree0.22.0, Feb 2022
Sunbird dcTrackEnterprise DCIM with power monitoringCommercialNot stated on the siteNo; 30-day free trial—
NlyteEnterprise DCIM and workflowsCommercialNot stated on the siteNo—
Device42IT asset discovery with DCIMCommercial—No; annual subscription by device count—
HyperviewCloud DCIM with public pricingCommercialSaaS$3 per asset per year, 500-asset minimumSaaS
Schneider EcoStruxure ITMonitoring for enterprise and edge sitesCommercialCloud and on-premises productsNo—
FNT CommandLarge enterprise and telco infrastructureCommercial—No price found—
EasyDCIMHosting and colocation providersCommercial—From $69/month (50 devices)—

A dash means the vendor's own materials did not state it on the date we checked. None of the twelve sends invoices to your customers; that matters if you are a provider rather than an operator, and it is covered below.

Open-source DCIM tools

Five open-source projects cover most of what people mean by open source DCIM. Three are released regularly; two still receive commits but have not published a release in more than two years.

NetBox

NetBox describes itself as built "specifically to serve the needs of network engineers and operators", and that is the right way to read it: a source of truth for the network, with DCIM and IPAM in one data model. It models racks with rendered elevations, devices, cabling with traced paths, circuits, IP addressing and power distribution, and it has a large plugin ecosystem and a solid API. What it does not do is monitor anything — its own documentation lists network monitoring and facilities management under "What NetBox Is Not". The community edition is Apache-2.0 and self-hosted; NetBox Labs sells NetBox Cloud and NetBox Enterprise, both priced on request. Version 4.7.1 was released on 15 September 2026.

Nautobot

Nautobot began as a fork of NetBox 2.10.4 and is now Network to Code's network source of truth and automation platform. The core models locations, racks, devices, cables, IP addresses and VLANs, and adds a Jobs engine and GraphQL for automation. Discovery, compliance, OS upgrades and other capabilities sit in the paid Professional and Enterprise editions, and Nautobot Cloud offers the Enterprise edition as SaaS. The open-source core is Apache-2.0; version 3.2.5 shipped on 15 September 2026.

Ralph

Ralph, from Allegro, is an asset management, DCIM and CMDB system with its strength in asset lifecycle — purchases, ownership and flows through a device's life. It is Apache-2.0 and self-hosted, and releases continue (20260902.1 on 2 September 2026), but its README now says Allegro maintains it under a "sources only" model "without guarantees". Budget for supporting it yourself.

openDCIM

openDCIM is a free, lightweight inventory application for the physical data centre, distributed under GPL v3. Data Center Knowledge notes that it does not include network mapping or IPAM. Its last release, 23.04, came out in October 2023; commits have continued since, but there has been no new release.

RackTables

RackTables documents hardware, rack space and network addresses, and is easy to install and learn. It is GPL-2.0. Its last release, 0.22.0, dates from February 2022, and an unreleased 0.22.1 with PHP 8 fixes sits in the changelog. Fine for a small room; think twice before building a growing business on it.

Commercial DCIM platforms

Sunbird dcTrack and Power IQ

Sunbird's suite covers asset tracking with 3D floor views, cabling with visual trace routes, change requests and work orders, and — through Power IQ — power monitoring with monthly energy-trend reports. Going by what each vendor documents, it is the broadest operations suite in this list. There is no public price; the site offers a 30-day free trial with your own data.

Nlyte

Nlyte, owned by Carrier since 2021, focuses on inventory, workflows, visualisation and capacity planning, including power-chain planning and AI-assisted placement, and lists more than a hundred integrations with ITSM, CMDB and building-management systems. Pricing is not published.

Device42

Device42, now a Freshworks company, is best known for automated discovery and application dependency mapping, with DCIM as part of a wider IT asset management product. It is sold as an annual subscription based on the number of devices, with no published figures.

Hyperview

Hyperview is cloud-native DCIM with the most transparent pricing in this list: $3 per asset per year with a 500-asset minimum, so at least $1,500 a year, plus priced add-ons such as Connectivity at $2 per asset per year, Control at $1 and Asset Tracking at $24 per rack per year. It runs as SaaS in US, Canadian, European, Asia-Pacific and UAE regions; there is no self-hosted option on the pricing page.

Schneider Electric EcoStruxure IT

Schneider spreads DCIM across several products: IT Expert for cloud-based monitoring of distributed sites, Data Center Expert for on-premises monitoring and control, and IT Advisor for planning and modelling. It is a natural candidate where Schneider power and cooling equipment is already installed. No prices are published.

FNT Command

FNT Command is the data-centre product of FNT Software, a German vendor whose customers are mostly large enterprises, public bodies and telecom operators. It appears on enterprise shortlists such as Virima's 2026 comparison; we found no published price.

EasyDCIM

EasyDCIM is the one commercial tool here built for hosting and colocation providers. It automates dedicated servers — power control over IPMI, OS installation over PXE — and hands billing to a billing platform through ready-made WHMCS and HostBill modules or its API. Prices are published: dedicated-server plans run $69, $99, $299 and $799 a month for 50, 100, 300 and 1,000 devices, colocation plans $49, $149 and $299 a month for 25, 100 and 300 services, with a 30-day money-back guarantee. For a side-by-side with a billing-integrated platform, see our EasyDCIM alternative page.

What they document, side by side

Only what each vendor's own materials state. "Not stated" means we could not confirm it, not that the tool lacks it.

ToolRack elevationsPowerIPAMCablingBills your customers
NetBoxYesModelling only, no monitoringYesYes, with tracesNo
NautobotRacks, yesNot statedYesYesNo
RalphVisualisation, yesNot statedYesNot statedNo
openDCIMNot statedNot statedNoNot statedNo
RackTablesRack space, yesNot statedBasicNot statedNo
Sunbird dcTrackYes, 3DMonitoring (Power IQ)Not statedYes, tracedNo
HyperviewNot statedSensors and polling add-onsNot statedConnectivity add-onNo
EasyDCIMNot statedPDU power-cyclingNot statedNot statedVia WHMCS or HostBill
FluxBillingYes, U-positionsBudgets per rack, SNMP pollingYes, IPv4 and IPv6Patch panels and cablesYes, built in

DCIM for hosting and colocation providers

If your racks are revenue, the question that decides the purchase is not "which tool models racks best" but "how does a rack unit, a power allocation and an IP address become an invoice line". Every tool above except EasyDCIM leaves that entirely to you, and EasyDCIM answers it by connecting to a separate billing system. That is a working design — many providers run EasyDCIM with WHMCS — but it is two products, two licences and a sync to keep healthy.

The four questions that sort providers quickly:

  • Do you invoice customers for space, power and addresses? Then the join between the DCIM record and the invoice is the product, and the network-engineering tools are the wrong starting point.
  • Do you need live monitoring or accurate documentation? NetBox and its peers document; Sunbird, Schneider and Hyperview monitor.
  • Who maintains it? Open source costs nothing to license, but two of the five projects have not released in years and Ralph is maintained without guarantees.
  • How is it priced? Per asset (Hyperview), per device or per service (EasyDCIM), per device count on request (Device42) — or on request entirely. Model your next two years of growth before you compare.

Where FluxBilling fits

Disclosure: FluxBilling is our product. It is billing software for hosting providers that includes DCIM on every tier rather than a DCIM tool with billing bolted on. Racks carry U-positions and a power budget (kW, circuit amps, voltage and redundancy); devices are placed by U; out-of-band control runs over IPMI and Redfish; switches and PDUs are polled over SNMP; patch-panel ports record cabling; and IPv4 and IPv6 are allocated from the built-in IPAM. Because those records share a database with the invoices, a colocation customer's rack space, committed power, IP transit and addresses are billed from the same rows that describe them — see colocation billing. Plans start at €4.95 a month and DCIM is included on every tier.

Where it is the wrong choice: it is not a facilities tool for power-chain and cooling modelling, so Sunbird, Nlyte or Schneider fit an operator running the building better; it is not a network automation source of truth, where NetBox and Nautobot are stronger; and it is younger than every commercial product here. If you only need documentation, the open-source tools are free.

Related reading: the DCIM feature spec, visual rack management and power billing, commit or metered.

Sources

NetBox, Nautobot, Ralph, openDCIM, RackTables, dcTrack, Power IQ, Nlyte, Device42, Hyperview, EcoStruxure, FNT Command and EasyDCIM are trademarks of their respective owners. FluxBilling is not affiliated with or endorsed by any of them. Third-party details are as published by each vendor on the dates above and may have changed since.

Tagged
best dcim softwaredcim softwaredcim toolsopen source dcimopen source dcim softwaredcim software comparisonnetbox alternativedevice42 alternativesrack management softwaredcim for hosting providers
Written by
Mario Marin
Mario Marin
View all posts →